Category: The Guild

Let’s Just Call it the Whedonverse Streamy Awards

The first annual Streamy (not steamy Joss) was a star-studded event with a level of professionalism not seen for web series in the past. Whedon fans who have been following the success of Dr. Horrible won’t be surprised that it seems that main stream is starting to understand the value and importance of the web industry. To hear more of my thoughts about that check out the post I did on Social Media World.

Whedon fans will be happy to know not only did Felicia Day, Joss Whedon, Maurissa Tancharoen, Neil Patrick Harris and Jane Espenson make off with awards, they also hit a huge nerve with the rest of their peers. My favorite was Blake Calhoun, who won best directing for a dramatic series for his show Pink, who said in his acceptance speech, “thank goodness The Guild or Dr. Horrible wasn’t in this category.” And John Stern, who accepted best guest star for Paul Rudd called the Streamys, “the first Dr. Horrible Awards.”

Maurissa, Joss, NPH, Felicia and Jane Espenson the big winners at the Streamys (photos by released under Creative Commons).

So what did our Whedonverse Alumns (and Joss) win?

Continue reading

The First Annual Streamy Awards Ceremony

Online entertainment grew up in 2008. Major production studios, independent new media producers, and a swath of talent ranging from Hollywood celebrities to overnight internet sensations contributed to the development of a distinctive and vibrant new medium. It’s time it got its own awards.

The Streamys were created to recognize and honor outstanding achievement for shows produced originally for broadband distribution, and recognizes both the shows themselves and the people who make them possible, through awards in 24 categories covering the arts and sciences of web television. The winners of the Streamy Awards will be celebrated at a live ceremony in Los Angeles on March 28, 2009.

Why should Joss fans be excited? Both Dr. Horrible, Jane Espenson and Felicia Day’s the Guild are up for awards!

Tickets on Sale

A very limited number of tickets to the Streamy Awards Ceremony have been made available to the public. You will receive an official invitation once you have made your purchase. Dress is fancy attire. The event begins at 7:30 pm. Red Carpet arrivals begin at 6:00 pm.

Stay Connected

Stay in the loop. Follow the Streamy Awards on Twitter, and join our Facebook Group. Want to help pick the winners? Make sure to cast your vote in the Audience Choice Awards.

PLEASE NOTE: All purchases are non-refundable, and non-transferable. Pre-payment is required on all purchases. Tickets will not be available at the door.

Dr. Horrible, The Guild and Jane Espenson Nominated at the Streamy Awards

The 1st Annual Streamy Awards, honoring the best in web television from 2008, announced the nominees for their award show. Dr. Horrible and the Guild have both picked up nominations. Dr. Horrible seems to have picked up a nominations in every category that’s applicable. Also, Jane Espenson is nominated for writing the webseries, Battlestar Galactica: The Face of the Enemy.

Voting for best web series, a people’s choice award, opens March 16th.

For a complete list of the nominees click here.